Select Page

Scenic Rim Regional Council has thanked Division 1 Councillor Derek Swanborough for his service and wished him well for his retirement following his resignation at today’s Ordinary Meeting.

Citing Section 162 (1) (f) of the Local Government Act 2009, Cr Swanborough informed the Chief Executive Officer of his intention to resign, effective immediately, and left the meeting after addressing the Chamber.

“This is a decision I am most reluctant to make, but I have regretfully come to the view that I am unable to provide the level of service to my constituents that they deserve,” he said.

“I have worked very hard with many of my Council colleagues in an endeavour to achieve higher levels of performance, greater efficiency, lower rates and improved levels of customer satisfaction, but above all, transparency in decision making.”

Cr Swanborough’s resignation will necessitate a by-election in Division 1, which he said had been an honour to represent.

“I say farewell today and offer my assistance and best wishes to whoever the voters choose to be the next Tamborine Mountain Councillor,” he said.

“I would like to thank my constituents, residents of the Scenic Rim, my many present and former colleagues and persons who have assisted me in carrying out my duties as a Councillor.”

Scenic Rim Mayor Greg Christensen, Deputy Mayor Jeff McConnell, and Councillors Marshall Chalk, Virginia West, Duncan McInnes and Michael Enright thanked Cr Swanborough for his contribution during the past three years and wished him and his family all the best for the future.

Scenic Rim Regional Council Chief Executive Officer David Keenan also extended well wishes to Cr Swanborough on behalf of the organisation.